MODERN AESTHETICS WITH ESTABLISHED TRADITIONS

FREUDWERK develops objects that blend into and enrich your living environment.
The exclusive selection of materials and products demonstrate quality and functional values linked with a pureness and clarity of form.

The interplay between design and handwork is our major focus. Our intensive development process combined
with an in depth know-how and a passion for details enhances our forms, materials, modern techniques and traditional handcraft.

 

 

 

VALUE AND SUSTAINABLE RESPONSIBILITY

We highly value a respectful utilisation of raw materials. This is reflected in our simple form philosophy as well as in the selection and treatment of the materials.
Our products are crafted in small quantities, which enables us to be flexible and cater to individual client demands.

FREUDWERK articles have an individual timeless elegance combined with a long life durability.

 

 

MATTHIAS SCHERZINGER

It all began in Glottertal, Germany. Born in 1978, Matthias early developed a deep connection to nature and culture during his childhood. This was supported by the family farming of his parents (field, forest, vineyard, grassland). So, his rootedness in tradition and home arose early. But at that time, the handling of wood was restricted to care and observation of the family forest.

During school, Matthias’ strengths soon became visible. They all could be located in the artistic field. Driven by his practical nature, it was clear for him to start working in skilled crafts and trades after graduation. So, in 1999 he decided to start an apprenticeship as a joiner/cabinet maker. After the first professional years, he was looking for some kind of change. Following his inner voice regarding development and self-fulfillment, he started his very own peregrination.

He started in New Zealand on the opposite side of the world. In 2004, he travelled through the island for several months and got familiar to the country and its people. After his return to Germany, he worked again for some years in his previous profession and then travelled on to England, to John Beavan Ltd. In this workshop, located on a remote farm on the border to Wales, furniture for the V&A Museum and the royal house were crafted. There, Matthias had the opportunity to learn wood carving and joined the traditional restauration of farm houses.

And Matthias’ peregrination continued:

2006 – 2009: Studies of Interior Design, Rosenheim / Germany

2008: Studies of Furniture Design, Seinäjoki / Finland

2008: Internship, Neuland Industry Design, Munich / Germany

2009 – 2011: Studies of Industry Design, Basel / Switzerland, Graduation: Bachelor of Arts in Industrial Design

2012 – 2014: Designer (Maker, Research & Development) at Joseph Walsh Studio, Fartha-Riverstick / Ireland

2014: Return home and foundation of “FREUDWERK – Design & Manufaktur”

First, FREUDWERK was just a design studio located in Glottertal, Germany. In the meantime, Matthias is owning a manufactory in Reute, Germany. Here, he is developing and crafting his creations in a very skilled, careful and elaborate way. Besides his own collection, projects are worked out and manufactured on individual customer request. As a further main pillar, FREUDWERK offers design services starting from conception, via prototyping to serial manufacture.

VERSCHMELZUNG VON MODERNER ÄSTHETIK UND TRADITION

FREUDWERK schafft Objekte, die sich in den Lebensraum ihrer Benutzer einfügen und ihn bereichern. Die exklusive Auswahl
an Produkten überzeugt durch Qualität, einen hohen Gebrauchswert, Klarheit und Ehrlichkeit.

Das Zusammenspiel von Design und Handwerk steht im Vordergrund: intensive Entwicklungsprozesse, hohes Fachwissen
und Liebe zum Detail stehen mit Form und Material, modernen Techniken und traditionellem Handwerk im Einklang.

 

 

 

 

WERTIGKEIT UND VERANTWORTUNGS­BEWUSSTSEIN

Wir schätzen einen respektvollen Umgang mit Rohstoffen. Dies spiegelt sich in der einfachen Formensprache,
sowie der Auswahl und Behandlung der Materialien wider.

Unsere Objekte werden in kleinen Auflagen gefertigt. Dadurch können wir flexibel sein und auf individuelle Kundenwünsche eingehen.

Die Produkte von FREUDWERK sind individuell, langlebig und von zeitloser Eleganz.

 

 

 

 

MATTHIAS SCHERZINGER

* 1978 in Freiburg im Breisgau / Deutschland

Alles begann in Glottertal. Schon während seiner Kindheit entwickelte Matthias einen engen Bezug zu Natur und Kultur. Durch die elterliche Kleinlandwirtschaft (Feld, Wiese, Weinbau und Forst), war der Umgang damit von klein auf vertraut. So bildete sich schon früh und völlig unbewusst eine Verwurzelung in Tradition und Heimat aus. Der Umgang mit der Materie Holz bezog sich damals jedoch vorerst auf die Pflege und Beobachtung der Entwicklung des Baumbestands.

Während der Schulzeit zeichneten sich recht schnell Matthias Stärken ab. Diese lagen in den musischen Fächer. Durch seine praktische Veranlagung war für ihn sofort klar, nach dem Abitur einen handwerklichen Beruf zu erlernen. So entschied er sich 1999 eine Schreinerausbildung zu machen. Nach mehreren Jahren Berufserfahrung im Ausbildungsbetrieb sehnte er sich nach Veränderung. Um seiner inneren Stimme in Bezug auf Entfaltung und Selbstverwirklichung zu folgen, begab er sich auf seine ganz persönliche Wanderschaft.

Diese begann in Neuseeland am anderen Ende der Welt. 2004 reiste er für mehrere Monate über die Insel und lernte Land und Leute kennen. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland arbeitete er wieder für einige Zeit als Schreiner. Anschließend zu John Beavan Ltd nach England. Auf einer kleinen, abgelegenen Farm an der Grenze zu Wales wurden Möbel für das V&A Museum sowie das Königshaus gefertigt. Nebenbei erlernte er das Schnitzen und restaurierte im traditionellen Stil alte Farmhäuser.

2006 – 2009: Innenarchitektur, HS Rosenheim / Deutschland
2008: Möbeldesign, University of Applied Sciences, Seinäjoki / Finnland
2008: Praktikum, Neuland Industriedesign, München / Deutschland
2009 – 2011: Industriedesign, HGK/FHNW Basel / Schweiz, Bachelor of Arts, Industrial Design
2012 – 2014: Designer – Maker, Research & Development, Joseph Walsh Studio, Fartha-Riverstick / Irland
2014: Rückkehr zu seinem Ursprung, Gründung von FREUDWERK – Design & Manufaktur

Anfangs war dies nur ein Designstudio in Glottertal. Inzwischen besitzt Matthias seine eigene Manufaktur in Reute, wo er in höchster Sorgfalt und handwerklichem Geschick seinen Kreationen Leben einhaucht. Neben der eigenen Kollektion, werden auch individuelle Kundenwünsche erarbeitet und angefertigt. Ein weiteres Standbein bildet die reine Designdienstleistung von der Idee über den Prototypenbau bis hin zur seriellen Fertigung.